Motor vehicle license plates (including personalized plates) are renewed in the vehicle owner’s birth month, except for some special plates. To renew, you must have a current Kentucky insurance card. Verification depends on your company’s compliance with House Bill 29 Mandatory Insurance Law.
Accepted methods of payment are cash, money order, personal checks, and cashier’s check.
MasterCard, Visa and Discover are also accepted, but there is a 2.95% credit card fee and a $2.25 debit card fee
You can support the Child Care Assistance Program or the Veteran’s Trust Fund by donating money with your renewal.
Four Convenient Ways to Renew Your Registration
1. Renew by Phone
To renew by phone, call 270-685-8434 EXT 2 and have the following items available:
- Plate or Title number
- Insurance card, if needed, to email or fax
- Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Fax: 270-240-5770
- Credit Card information
Renewing by phone incurs a 2.95% credit card fee and a $2.00 postage and handling fee
Or use the 24 Hour Phone Renewal System for Vehicle Renewals
(English and Spanish available)
You will need:
- Vehicle’s title number
- Renewal notice amount
- Credit card information your vehicles title number, renewal notice amount, and credit card to process your renewal over the phone; your title number is located on your title or your old registration.)
You will not be able to renew by this 24 hour phone service if your registration is expired.
2. Renew Online
Renew your registration from the comfort of your home or office by clicking this link: Renew Online Here
You will not be able to renew by this method if your registration is expired.
3. Renew by Mail
Avoid the lines and use our Mail-In Renewal Service
Send your renewal post card, current KY insurance card, and payment (check, money order, or cash) plus a $2.00 mail-in fee to:
Daviess Co Clerk
P.O. Box 609
Owensboro, KY 42302
4. Renew in Person
Visit our office Monday thru Friday from 8am-4:30pm for fast and friendly service.
Motor Boat Renewals
All motor boat registrations and transfers are handled by the County Clerk’s Office. Kentucky law requires all boats having motors to be registered if operated on public waters. To register a boat you must have your registration certificate. Boat renewals and property tax payments may be processed in the same ways that you renew a motor vehicle (see above).
If you have questions regarding your renewal, please feel free to contact us at 270-685-8434
Property tax for your vehicles, trailers and boats are assessed by the Property Valuation Administrator on January 1st of each year. You are responsible for property tax for any vehicle registered to you on January 1.
Taxes are collected upon renewal or registration change. If a vehicle is transferred prior to renewal, the January 1st owner is responsible for the taxes on that vehicle.