Skip to content
Daviess County Fire Truck

Open Burning

The County Burning Ordinance can be found under Title IX: General Regulations; Chapter 91: Fire Prevention; Section 91.03.

Anyone requesting to burn anything other than leaves and having less than one (1) acre of ground are required to obtain a burn permit from the Daviess County Fire Department. Permits are FREE and may be issued for two (2) weeks.

Disposal by burning is illegal in Daviess County. Burning garbage poses a health risk to both the natural environment and human beings alike.

The following are just a handful of regular items are illegal to burn:

Home & Farm
  • Animal Bedding
  • Hay
  • Muck Piles (Horse Manure/Hay)
  • Grass Clippings
  • Agricultural Plastic
  • Chemical Containers
  • Coated Wire
  • Insulation
  • Furniture
  • Carpeting
  • Rubber
  • Tires
  • All wood building material
Wood Materials
  • Fence Posts
  • Sawdust
  • Wood Mulch
  • Pallets
  • Painted, Stained or Pressure-Treated Wood
  • Construction Debris
  • Renovation Debris
  • Asbestos Materials
  • Shingles
  • Drywall

For information on what can and cannot be burned, contact the Division for Air Quality of the Department for Environmental Protection.

Contact information can be found inside this brochure.

For additional information on open burning, please visit the Division for Air Quality’s website.

For additional information on fire training, please visit the Division for Air Quality’s website.

Alternatives to Burning:

  1. Reduce, Reuse and Recycle
  2. Compost
  3. Landfill

Safety Tips:

  • Do not burn too close to any building or area that might endanger the public health and safety.
  • Never burn under any tree or power lines.
  • All fire should be closely monitored and never left unattended.


During fire seasons, it is illegal to burn anything within 150 feet of any woodland or brush land between the hours of 6am to 6pm.

  • Spring Forest Fire Hazard Season    February 15th – April 30th
  • Fall Forest Fire Hazard Season        October 1st – December 15th

KRS Chapter 149 – Division of Forestry

Forest protection laws place the primary responsibility of protecting Kentucky’s forestland on the Division of Forestry.  Some of the areas covered by this law include: fire hazard seasons, collection of fire suppression costs, authority of forest wardens, collection of timberland assessment and wild land arson.

If you have any questions, call the Daviess County Fire Department @ 270-685-8440.

Call 1-502-782-6592 to report suspected illegal burning or to find out more about Kentucky’s open burning regulation.  After hours, leave a message and someone will respond as soon as possible.  You may also email

Having trouble opening PDFs? Download Adobe Reader here.

Daviess County Kentucky

Install Daviess County Kentucky

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap then “Add to Home Screen”