Skip to content

Fiscal Court Recognizes Owensboro Rampage Hockey Team

Daviess County Fiscal Court recognized the Owensboro Rampage Hockey Team for a third consecutive state championship.

“We’ve made history,” said Coach Jason Link.  “We are the first team in Kentucky to ever win the state title three times in a row.  And we have seven players that have been on every team.”

The Owensboro Rampage won the Kentucky High School Hockey League (KHSHL) state championship in 2020, 2021, and 2022.  Link was named ‘Coach of the Year’ but credits his players for the success.

“We’re thankful to have a community that embraces us and gives us these opportunities,” Link said.

Players depart for the USA Hockey National Championships in Dallas, Texas on Wednesday, March 23.

Fiscal Court News

Fiscal Court approved a contract with the Commonwealth of Kentucky regarding Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funding for the new OASIS shelter.  The grant award for $1 million will allow for the acquisition of an existing, multi-family building complex with 38 beds.

Fiscal Court held a public hearing on the closeout documents for Owensboro Regional Recovery’s CDBG-CV grant award of $200,000.  Commissioners later approved a Professional Services Contract with Green River Area Development District (GRADD) regarding administration of the grant.

GRADD will administer a separate grant for a new generator at the Daviess County Emergency Management Agency (DCEMA).

Fiscal Court had the first reading for the updated road index.  Only one additional length of road is being introduced into the system in a subdivision off Daniels Lane.

Commissioners rejected a bid for a fertilizer spreader (Landfill) that did not meet specifications.  Other bids were awarded for a mailing/shipping system (Fiscal Court) and a dozer undercarriage replacement (Landfill).

Fiscal Court approved a Street Lighting District for Unit 9 of the Woodland Ridge subdivision off Highway 56 West.

Board Appointments

Lewis Jean and Terri Thompson were reappointed to the Daviess County Parks Board for four-year terms, effective April 1, 2022.

Daisy James has been reappointed to the Greenwood Cemetery Advisory Board for a three-year term, effective April 19, 2022.

Carlin Gregory has been reappointed to the Ohio County Water District Board for a four-year term, effective April 1, 2022.

Erica Wade and Shelley Newcom will fill unexpired terms on the Drug Free Owensboro-Daviess County Steering Committee, effective March 2022.

Daviess County Kentucky

Install Daviess County Kentucky

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap then “Add to Home Screen”