Skip to content

Fiscal Court Approves 2023-2024 Budget

Daviess County Fiscal Court had second reading and passage of the 2023-2024 Fiscal Year Budget, which takes effect on July 1.

Treasurer Jordan Johnson said the budget assumes that the currently adopted taxes and tax rates will be held constant with no new taxes levied, and that no additional debt will be issued.  County employees will see a 6.5% Cost of Living Adjustment.

The major capital expenditures are highlighted by improvements to the Grimes Avenue Transfer Station, with the replacement of the tipping floor and the construction of a new Convenience Center.

Additional expenditures include: a remodel of the Election Department, two new weather sirens, three fenced play yards for the Animal Shelter, two fire engines for volunteer departments and other vehicle replacements.

Fiscal Court is applying for a grant through the Land and Water Conservation Fund (LWCF) to add lighting to the baseball field, basketball and pickleball courts at Stanley Park.  Funding has been allocated in the parks budget to support this project, if the LWCF grant is successful.

More than $1.2 million has been set aside for asphalt resurfacing, with the state reimbursing another million in transportation projects, including a bridge replacement on Indian Hill Road and the paving of Griffith Station Road.

Click here to view the annual budget and appropriations.

Other News

Fiscal Court approved a design contract for the remodel of the Election Department at the Daviess County Clerk’s Office.

Annual bids were awarded for crushed limestone, culvert pipe, ready-mix concrete, and janitorial services at the county administrative facilities and the judicial center.

Fiscal Court will apply for a grant of up to $4,000 to dispose of old tires that are found by the Road Department and other entities during cleanup.

A flag retirement ceremony will be held at Panther Creek Park – South on June 14.  Arrive by 4 p.m. if you plan to bring a flag for the ceremony.


  • Dennis Fisher will join the Solid Waste Department as Part-Time Landfill Scale Operator.
  • Jake Westerman and James Thomson were hired as Transfer Station Laborers.
  • Patrick Sowders will join the Solid Waste Department as a Laborer at the Landfill.
  • Jordan Johnson has been reappointed as County Treasurer for a four-year term.
  • Bill Weikel has been appointed to the RWRA Board for a four-year term.
  • Joe Paul Bickett will be promoted to County Project Manager.
  • Kelci Calhoun has been reclassified as Assistant Animal Control Director.

Next Meeting

Fiscal Court will meet on Thursday, June 22 at 5 p.m. with a live-stream available on Facebook.

Having trouble opening PDFs? Download Adobe Reader here.

Daviess County Kentucky

Install Daviess County Kentucky

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap then “Add to Home Screen”