Skip to content

County to resurface 30 miles of roadway

Daviess County Fiscal Court has approved a recommended list of county roads to be resurfaced in the next fiscal year.

Between the three districts, more than 30 miles of highway will be repaved.

“We look at the total miles for each district and try to separate the money the best we can, based on the percentage of miles and the condition of the roads,” explained County Engineer Mark Brasher.

The roadway resurfacing list can be found in the chart below.

East District
Road Begin End
Knottsville-Mount Zion Rd. Winkler-Mt. Zion Rd. KY-144
Pin Oak Dr. Boxwood Dr. Dead End
Brownwood Dr. Pin Oak Dr. Reid Rd.
Maple Hill Dr. Boxwood Dr. Dead End
Forest Dr. Black Oak Dr. Pin Oak Dr.
Boxwood Dr. Maple Hill Dr. Pin Oak Dr.
Black Oak Dr. Thruston-Dermont Rd. Forest Dr.
Yelvington-Knottsville Rd. KY-662 KY-1389
Jack Hinton Rd. McPherson Rd. KY-764
Sublett Rd. Boteler Rd. End of Pavement
Boteler Rd. Pleasant Valley Rd. KY-144
Ward Rd. KY-54 KY-764
Milton Rd. Ditto Rd. Little Hickory Rd.


Central District
Road Begin End
Lashbrook Rd. Old Masonville Rd. End of Pavement
Carlton Dr. City Limits J.R. Miller Rd.
Best Way City Limits Carlton Dr.
Jackson Rd. South W. Harmons Ferry Rd. KY-140
Old Masonville Loop Lashbrook Rd. Old Masonville Rd.
Burns Rd. Todd Bridge Rd. US 431


West District
Road Begin End
Ballard Rd. KY-279 Wayne Bridge Rd.
Saint Joseph Ln. KY-500 End of Pavement
Worthington Rd. KY-56 W. 5th Street Rd.
W. 5th Street Rd. KY-279 Lyddane Bridge Rd.
Fenwick Rd. Hall School Rd. KY-258
Lee Rudy Rd. KY-279 Lyddane Bridge Rd.
Berry Rd. KY-500 KY-56
French Island Rd. Laketown Rd. Wimsatt Rd.

Prior to the start of the meeting, a public hearing was held regarding the use of County Road Aid (CRA) and Local Government Economic Assistance (LGEA) funds for asphalt/maintenance of county roads.

Fiscal Court also approved a separate contract to repair a guardrail on East Marksberry Road at the Shoemaker Branch Bridge.  The guardrail was damaged in a crash.

Budget Items

Fiscal Court had first reading on a budget amendment for the current fiscal year, accounting for CARES Act reimbursement for jail salaries and funds received through the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA).

Commissioners also heard the first reading of an ordinance relating to the budget for Fiscal Year 2022.

Owensboro Regional Recovery will be receiving a $200,000 Community Development Block Grant (CDBG).  Fiscal Court approved a budget amendment, allowing the agency to accept the funds in June.

Other News

Commissioners approved a salary schedule for the next fiscal year, along with standing orders for certain reoccurring expenses.

Fiscal Court approved a claim from the County Clerk for the calculation of motor vehicle and boat bills.

The County will apply for a Waste Tire Grant of up to $4,000, with the funds intended for roadside cleanup of tire waste.

Brandon Gilles was recognized for winning first place in the Kentucky Farm Bureau’s Discussion Meet, a debate-style completion for young farmers.

Commissioner Mike Koger shared an update on the inclusive playground at Horse Fork Creek Park, which is nearing completion.  The playground will be accessible to children of all abilities, near the spray park on Fairview Drive.  It will open in the near future.

Commissioner Charlie Castlen asked Daviess County residents to consider attending a Memorial Day service to honor fallen military.

Judge-Executive Al Mattingly said most restrictions related to COVID-19 will be lifted by the state on June 11th.  Therefore, it is the County’s intention to open the Courtroom to the public, starting with the June 15th meeting.  However, Mattingly said some restrictions will remain in place, including limiting the number of people in the room, so they can be socially distanced.


Fiscal Court accepted the resignations of Keith Lyons and Marvin Ammons, and the retirements of Jane Garrison (20 years) and Dee Ann Bryenton (10+ years).

Brooke Smith will become the Administrative Assistant for the Daviess County Coroner’s Office, following completion of pre-employment screening.

Sunny Patel will fill the unexpired, partial term of Curt Baker on the Owensboro – Daviess County Convention & Visitors Bureau.

Daviess County Kentucky

Install Daviess County Kentucky

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap then “Add to Home Screen”