Skip to content

50th Anniversary of Stanley Volunteer Fire Department

Judge/Executive Charlie Castlen has proclaimed July 13, 2023 as Stanley Volunteer Fire Department Day, in celebration of the 50th anniversary.

The Stanley Volunteer Fire Department was organized in 1973.  The original leaders of the department included: George Murphy, President; Joe Wathen, Vice-President; Jim Settles, Secretary-Treasurer; Don Catron, Jay Strode, Bill Mullican, and Kenny Pendleton.

The Stanley Fire Station opened in 1974 at a cost of $46,000.  Since that time, the department has responded to thousands of calls for service (1200 in the last 10 years alone).

Stanley volunteer firefighters carry on the tradition of citizen response for the common good, ready to respond in a moment’s notice to help those in need.

These volunteer firefighters protect our lives, our families and the economic life of our communities, often at great personal sacrifice.

Please join us in congratulating the department on this milestone!

Daviess County Kentucky

Install Daviess County Kentucky

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap then “Add to Home Screen”